top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan Tan

Plan with Me: Bullet Journal Setup February 2021

Updated: Mar 21, 2021



To get prepared for the longest Chinese New Year Vacation, I started to plan my bullet journal in mid-January, and I’m so glad that I did since I’m been so busy this February. The theme I choose for this month is Digimon Adventure(デジモンアドベンチャー), featuring Yamato/Matt and Gabumon, the friendship partners. Without further ado, let us start with the cover page.

 
Cover Page – Metalgarurumon Tattoo

Every man loved robots and Machines since little, and I am no exception. This art was inspired by a tattoo fan art I saw on Pinterest, and instantly fell in love with it, so decided to recreate it as my cover image. I focused on only three colors when choosing the palette, which is red, yellow, and blue.


To make the subject more popping up, I used black ink pens to draw the shadow, I also put a lot of Burnt Umber on the ribbon, creating an old paper-liked texture. Finally, I drew circles and drips by using a blue highlighter, creating a spray paint background.

  • Colors and Codes:


Monthly Spread – Yamato/Matt and Gabumon

There are two ways when drawing a calendar, which is grid and block. I decided to try a block style for this monthly log. Since I just got a new box of alphabets and number stamps, I started to use them instead of showing my messy handwriting.


If you are a fan of Digimon, you will know that Yamato/Matt’s is harmonica played a big role throughout the series. It is also the only thing he has taken from the human world. Gabumon is not only a big fan of his harmonica song but fell asleep once he played the harmonica. Truth to tell, Gabumon looking so adorable when falling asleep, am I right?


Weekly Spread #1 – Garurumon

I only drew three weekly spreads this month, and the first featuring Garurumon. He is a champion Digimon who is covered in blue and white-colored fur which as sharp as blades. I used a white gel pen to highlight the tip of the fur, making them look more metal liked.


This is also my first-time painting fire, for the blue foxfire around Garurumon, I mixed with two blue colors, which are Cobalt Blue Hue and Permanent Blue Hue, and apply a lot of water on the first layer, creating a mystic vibe. Finally, I used a blue gel pen instead of black ink around the fire. If you look closely, you will also find more details in the flame.

  • Colors and Codes:


Weekly Spread #2 – WereGarurumon

For the theme of the second week, I choose to draw WereGarurumon, a fierce werewolf with a muscular body. I was supposed to draw a full moon on the left page, but if I did that, there won’t be many rooms for me to write, so I put a moon sticker on the top instead. Since the light comes from the top left, I mixed a lot of Payne Gray on the upper pelt, the neck, and chest, creating a decent shadow to the character.


For the leather armor and outfit, I only focused on one side. To create more texture on the leather, I mixed with three colors, Light red, Burnt Umber, and Sepia. I applied more Sepia once the first layer gets dried. Lastly, I used a white gel pen to make highlights on the sliver, making them shine in the dark.


Weekly Spread #3 – WereGarurumon and Yamato

For the last week, I put the Illustration in the middle, creating a Dutch door liked layout. I separated the highlighted area from the subject in case I forgot about them. Unlike the 3rd weekly spread, this art focused on the back view of WereGarurumon, showing the whole body. I used many white colors on the highlighted part to contrast.

  • Colors and Codes:


Habit Tracker and Mood Tracker

For the mood tracker this month, I choose to do a wheel style chart. I colored with indigo and drawing stars with a white gel pen, creating a galaxy background since Yamato will become an astronaut in the future. As you can see from my result, I tend to exercise more in February, and my mood becomes more stable through working out regularly.

  • Colors and Codes:

 

That is all for my February bullet journal spread design, I got so much feedback and ideas from my Instagram account since I changed the layout and the topic from Disney to the Japanese Anime theme. Hope you like it and see you next month!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page